FIFA football awards 2018 took place yesterday at Royal Festival Hall in London with Croatia and Real Madrid Midfielder, Luka Modric awarded Best FIFA Men’s Player Award. Modric won over Juventus Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool’s talisman, Mohamed Salah

The voting for the award was done by coaches, team captains and media men from FIFA nations. Just like in the UEFA award, it was the first time, there is a new name on

The Best FIFA Men’s Player trophy. Cristiano Ronaldo won the previous two awards. Modric has shown the world that he deserved a place at the podium due to his outstanding display at the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia with Croatia and with Real Madrid at the UEFA Champion League

The Croatian was the metronomic lynchpin at the heart of Los Blancos midfield throughout the 2017/18 campaign. As noted, “Modric’s tireless running, key goals and outstanding leadership qualities helped guide Croatia to the final against France, his nation’s finest performance at the global finals.”

While Lennart took home the FIFA Fair Play Award, Brazilian Marta was named The Best FIFA Women’s Player.

All the FIFA Best are:

  • Men’s Player: Luka Modric
  • Women’s Player: Marta
  • Men’s Coach: Didier Deschamps
  • Women’s Coach: Reynald Pedros
  • Goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois
  • Puskás Award: Mo Salah
  • Fan Award: Peru supporters
  • Fair Play Award: Lennart Thy

World11: David De Gea; Dani Alves, Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Raphael Varane; Eden Hazard, N’Golo Kante, Luka Modric; Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi.